Coffee Porter – or how I made the bomb and learned to love it

My latest foray in to home brewing has given mixed results – a coffee porter with the kick of a triple espresso but with the stability of a unbroken wild stallion who has drunk too much Sunny D.

My first serendipitous mistake was to use Necafe Azera Amercina as my base coffee rather than the granules to be used in a cafftitier  so that the equivalent of about 20 cups of coffee (strong, no milk) seeped into the 40 litre brew so rather than a mild after-taste the flavour comes at you like a steamtrain.

My second mistake, upon reflection, was my eagerness and haste to bottle it before full fermentation (I think?, I am still stumbling forward in the world of home-brew – still, the one eyed man is king in the land of the blind-drunk).

Two weeks later and it was ready for consumption. The first bottle required half a roll of kitchen towel to clean the work surface and floor however the one third a glass I managed to salvage from the full 500ml bottle was one of those ‘wow – have I made this ?’ moments that leaves one thinking that may be it was time to throw away the shackles of every day wage slavery and goddammit I will open that brewery. A reverie only shattered by the cry of ‘darling, look at the mess’ from Mrs Beerfairy.

By judicious use of a saucepan and a measuring jug I am now able to enjoy nearly 2/3 of a bottle at a time and it tastes better at every pouring. A few bottles (with appropriate warning) have been distributed around the office to the more discerning of drinkers and the feedback has ranged from ‘excellent’ to ‘ better than what I bought in the pub last week’ – the brand that was considered inferior was named but modesty and possibly the laws of libel prevent me passing this on.

There are still 20 odd bottles in the neighbour’s Anderson shelter; ironic that the bombs are now possibly going to go off inside rather than outside.

For the completists amongst you the other ingredients were:

  • 1 sachet of crushed torrefied wheat,
  • 1 sachet of crushed cara malt
  • 1 sachet of crushed chocolate malt
  • 1 sachet of fuggles hops
  • 1 sachet of DAB yeast
  • 2 tins of Heart of England Design A Brew No 5 malt extract

as well as all the usual sugar, water, swearing etc.

So there we have it, coffee porter made, lessons learnt and kitchen floor cleaned.

Addendum – and of course my thanks to Brewwitch Bev my partner in crime xcoffee porter

About Mike Massen

Drinking quality beers on your behalf. My thoughts and no-one else's; to report without fear or compromise and never to do things by half - always a pint.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

